Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer



RALEIGH, N.C. – For the third consecutive season, the Shaw University women's tennis team has advanced to the NCAA Tournament that begins Monday (May 13). The Lady Bears were selected as the seventh seed in the Atlantic Regional after claiming its third-straight Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) Championship last week to earnt the automatic bid.

The NCAA revealed its selections and seeding's for the 2019 NCAA Division II Tennis Championships, as well as locations for regional play. As the No. 7 seed, Shaw (17-9) will face the No. 2 seed Charleston (WV) (23-5) on Monday during the first round on the campus of UC at the Schoenbaum Courts. First serve is slated for 1 p.m.

Shaw enters the Tournament riding a five-match win-streak led by CIAA Player of the Year and Tournament MVP, senior Carmen Mantecon (Madrid, Spain) who has a 20-5 record at the No. 2 singles and a 19-7 mark with doubles partner junior Siria Dibe (Tucumon, Argentina). Freshman and All-CIAA, Eva Ostermeier (Munich, Germany) posts a 19-4 record at the No. 6 position while teaming up with CIAA Rookie of the Year and freshman Kundai Manyonga (Harare, Zimbabwe) for a 16-4 record at the No. 3 doubles. The Lady Bears are led by Sunday Enitan who was also named the 2019 CIAA Coach of the Year in his 20th season.

Charleston (WV), a member of the Mountain East Conference (MEC) earned a bid in the tournament after falling to West Virginia State in the MEC championship title match, 4-1.

Shaw and UC met during the regular season back on Apr. 14 with the Lady Bears falling 6-1 at the Schoenbaum Courts.

The winner of the match will advance to the second round to face the winner of No. 3 Salem (WV) and No. 6 West Chester on May 14 at 2 p.m.

Below is a list of the seeding's for the Atlantic Region:

1. West Virginia State (18-5) AQ
2. Charleston (WV) (23-5)
3. Salem (WV) (18-2)
4. Mercyhurst (17-7) AQ
5. Slippery Rock (16-8)
6. West Chester (11-7)
7. Shaw (17-9) AC

For the most up-to-date information on Shaw athletics and its 13 varsity sport teams, visit