Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


Photo credit: Donald Watkins.
Photo credit: Donald Watkins.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The Shaw University women's basketball team fell 61-40 to Johnson C. Smith University in Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) Southern Division contest to conclude its regular season at BrayBoy Gymnasium.

Unfortunately, the Lady Bears got off to a slow start in the first two quarters and could not recover from a halftime deficit of 31-16 down the stretch.

In the second half, JCSU led by as many as 30 points before the Lady Bears slowly chopped at the lead to pull within 18 points on a 3-pointer from senior guard Victoria Swanson (Monmouth, OR) at the 5:14 mark of the third quarter but the Golden Bulls would score seven-straight to take a 46-21 stand at the end of the period.

The fourth quarter resulted in a better shooting effort for Shaw, shooting over 40-percent from the field, including 4-4 from the free throw line. The Lady Bears outscored JCSU 19-15, but Shaw would not get any closer than 21 points for the remainder of the contest.

Shaw was led on offense by both senior guard Dejoria "DJ" Howard (Orangeburg, SC) and junior guard Tyra Sinclair (Laurel, MD) who both finished the game with 12 points apiece while Howard grabbed a team-high six rebounds. The Lady Bears conclude the regular season 6-20 overall, 2-15 in the CIAA and 2-10 in the Southern Division.

JSCU had three players reach double figures in scoring, led by Maiya Green with 14 points. Aubrianna Bonner chipped in 13 points, six rebounds, four steals and four assists while Malia Rivers added 10 points and 10 rebounds. The Golden Bulls improve to 17-10 overall, 12-5 in the CIAA and 9-3 in the South.

Shaw will not await the official seedings of the 2020 CIAA Tournament that will be held in Charlotte, NC from Feb. 25-29 at both the Bojangles Coliseum and the Spectrum Center. The Lady Bears will likely enter the tournament as the sixth seed.

For the most up-to-date information on Shaw Athletics and its 13 varsity sport teams, please visit