HINTON NAMED BOXTOROW NATIONAL PLAYER OF THE WEEK

HINTON NAMED BOXTOROW NATIONAL PLAYER OF THE WEEK

RALEIGH, N.C. – Junior Amir Hinton (Philadelphia, PA) of the Shaw University men's basketball team was named the BOXTOROW National Player of the Week announced Monday, Feb. 4.

 

Hinton is coming off a 40-point performance on 15-of-21 shooting that helped the Bears to an 87-84 road win last Saturday at Johnson C. Smith – marking his fourth game with at least 40 points this season. During Shaw's three-game span last week, Hinton averaged 33.7 points, 3.0 assists, and 2.0 steals as the Bears claimed all three victories for a 5-2 mark in the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) Southern Division race.

 

He leads the nation in scoring for DII with an average of 31.6 points per game and has garnered several interest from NBA scouts since Nov.

 

Hinton will be highlighted on the nationally syndicated sports talk show FROM THE PRESS BOX TO PRESS ROW w/ Donal Ware which airs on radio stations across the country www.boxtorow.com/affiliate-stations including KAPU, Saturdays at 10 a.m. CT, as well as on SiriusXM Channel 142 on Saturday 8a CT/9a ET/6a PT.

 

Shaw men's hoops will return to action Wednesday, Feb. 6 for a CIAA cross division contest at regionally ranked Virginia State. Tipoff is slated for 7:30 p.m. at the VSU Multipurpose Center in Ettrick, Va.

 

For the most up-to-date information on Shaw basketball and its 13 varsity sport teams, please visit www.shawbears.com.