RALEIGH, N.C. – The Shaw University Department of Athletics hosted its annual athletic awards banquet, Wednesday night inside the historic C.C. Spaulding Gymnasium.

The event unofficially marks the conclusion of the 2018-19 athletic season, which recognizes and honor the success of Shaw student-athletes on and off the playing field.

Each program presented its annual team awards during the ceremony. In addition, the athletic department also announced the recipients of several special awards.

Another year saw so many outstanding accomplishments from an array of athletes as women's tennis' Carmen Mantecon (Madrid, Spain) and men's tennis Daniel Ac (Kikinda, Serbia) were named Athletic Director's Academic Award for Female and Male Highest GPA Student-Athlete of the Year, respectively. 

Softball and women's volleyball, Alexandra Masnica (Chicago, IL) and football's Joshua Edwards (McCleansville, NC) were named the recipients of the Chester Davis Sportsmanship Awards.

Shaw won one Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) Championship thus far during the 2018-19 year that featured the second in the last three seasons for women's volleyball. There was a total of three teams that claimed CIAA Southern Division titles this year, including women's volleyball, women's tennis and men's basketball.

Below is a list of the award winners on the evening – by sport:


Highest GPA – Dante Lowe-Rogers

Offensive Co-Most Valuable Player – Keon Marsh and Daniel Bender

Defensive Most Valuable Player – Devon Hunt

Most Improved – Quron Hall

Special Team Award – Beni Kinsemi


Women's Volleyball

Highest GPA – Saraya Klink

Impact Player – Jazmine Johnson-McCoy

Most Valuable Player – Keveesha Wattley

Best Offensive Player – Michelle Olmeda-Gonzalez

Best Defensive Player – Kelly Murphy

Coaches Award – Tapanga Moten


Men's Basketball

Highest GPA – Philip Garner

Coaches Award – DaVaughn Kelsie

Iron Man – Geremy Taylor

Most Outstanding Player – Amir Hinton

Most Improved Player – Alex Owens

Defensive Player of the Year – Alex Owens


Women's Basketball

Highest GPA – Tahniya Sweatt

Rebound Award – Macy Keen

Free Throw Award – KlinTisha Martin

Hustle Award – Keyonte Cherry

Charge Award – Taylor Royster

Most Improved Player – Amani Moxley


Men's Tennis

Highest GPA – Daniel Ac

Rookie of the Year – Diego Nino

Most Outstanding Player – Diego Leal

Most Improved Player – Destiny Udofe

Most Valuable Player – Ngonidzashe Makambwa


Women's Tennis

Highest GPA – Carmen Mantecon

Rookie of the Year – Eva Ostermeier

Most Outstanding Player - Helena Fekete

Most Improved Player - Kundai Manyonga

Most Valuable Player – Carmen Mantecon


Women's Outdoor Track and Field

Highest GPA – Laquell Harris

Field Most Valuable Player – Laquell Harris

Track Most Valuable Player – Kaydi-Ann Wint

Most Improved Player – Damoni Neal

Coaches Choice – Kyla Sanders

Rookie of the Year – Luisa Cury 



"MVC" Most Valuable Cheerleader – Danielle Johnson

Most Improved Cheerleader – Damoni Neal

Toughest Cheerleader – Johnathan Wiggns

Best All-Around Cheerleader – Rashawn Rogers

Freshman of the Year – Iyona Russell


Men's Cross Country

Highest GPA – Fabien Niyirora

Most Valuable Player – Mike Lagat

Rookie of the Year – Fabien Niyirora

Best Team Spirit – Antonio Nelson

Coaches Award – Isiah Gaddy


Women's Cross Country

Highest GPA – Kaydi-Ann Wint

Most Valuable Player – Kaydi-Ann Wint

Rookie of the Year – Lusia Cury

Best Team Spirit – Aniya Ladson

Most Improved Player – Damoni Neal


Men's Soccer

Highest GPA – Fabien Niyirora

Most Valuable Player – Andre Matzuda

Best Offensive Player – Eric Huete

Best Defensive Player – Carl Kenndy

Players Player – Carl Kennedy

Most Improved - Fabien Niyirora


Women's Soccer

Highest GPA – Denise Cury

Most Valuable Player – Philine Diekhoff

Best Offensive Player – Jasa Curry

Best Defensive Player – Katherine Inhoof

Players Player – Jasa Curry

Most Improved - Shianne Duplantis



Highest GPA – Christine Ngeve

Offensive Player of the Year – Alexandra Masnica

Defensive Player of the Year – Alexandra Masnica

Pitcher Award – Joan Wendt

Coaches Award – Tajia Bailey

Women's Outdoor Track and Field


Women's Bowling

Highest GPA – Denise Cury

Newcomer of the Year – Joan Wendt

Most Improved Player – Luisa Cury

Sportsmanship Award – Naija Parker


Athletic Training

Highest GPA – Tiana Winfield

Most Dedicated – Tiana Winfield

Most Energetic – Demetrius Jones

Newcomer – Adrienne Packer