FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.  – The Shaw University women's volleyball team fell in four sets (25-16, 25-22, 25-15, 25-13) to Winston-Salem State University in the 2015 Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) Championship game on Sunday afternoon inside Felton J. Capel Arena.


The Lady Bears end their season with a 21-11 record after finishing 1-19 one year ago.


Keveesha Wattley (St. Croix, VI) led the effort for Shaw with 15 kills.  Kelly Murphy (Mukwonago, WI) followed with 11 kills and 11 digs in the setback while Michelle Olmeda-Gonzalez (San Juan, PR) handed out 36 assists and collected 14 digs.  Tiffany Brooks (Efland, NC) added 14 digs for Shaw. 


The first set featured an early battle for momentum before the Lady Rams grabbed an 8-6 lead behind a 4-0 run off of Teynia Sheperd's serves.  The Lady Bears stayed close on WSSU heels but was unable to steal the momentum or the lead in the remainder of the set.  The Lady Rams secured the 25-16 victory in set one using a SU attack error. 


In the second set the Lady Bears raced to a 10-3 lead forcing the Lady Rams to take a timeout.  The Lady Rams persistently chipped away at the deficit and rallied to take a 17-15 lead after two service aces by Holland.  SU would remain in striking distance to keep the score close down the stretch with the score tied 22-22 as the Lady Bears used a kill by Murphy and two WSSU errors to secure the 25-22 set win.   


The Lady Rams fought back with vengeance at the start of the third set and jumped out to a quick 6-1 lead. WSSU clung tightly to the advantage and maintained control for the remainder of the set.  A kill by Mills secured the 25-15 victory for the Lady Rams. 


After trailing 3-1 at the start of the fourth set, WSSU rallied to score seven consecutive points behind Jasmine Smith's serves.  From there, it was all about the Lady Rams as Shaw was unable to recover from the deficit to drop the 25-13 decision after Roselyn Mitchell registered a service ace to seal the deal.


Murphy and Brooks were selected to the CIAA All-Tournament Team for Shaw.


Members of the CIAA All-Tournament Team include:


Sydney Cook- Lincoln University (PA)

Samira Luis- Fayetteville State

Adriana Hazou - Virginia State

Suraya Chase- Chowan

Kelly Murphy- Shaw

Tiffany Brooks- Shaw

Jocelyn Mills- Winston-Salem State

Syndey Holland- Winston-Salem State

Olivia Owens – Winston-Salem (Most Valuable Player)


For the most up-to-date information on Shaw University women's volleyball and its 11 varsity sport teams, please visit