Darrell Asberry And Kevin Atkins Earn Pigskin Club Honors


(WASHINGTON, DC)- The Pigskin Club of Washington, DC, has named Shaw's Darrell Asberry its CIAA Coach of the Year, and quarterback Kevin Atkins its CIAA Player of the Year.  Both will be honored at the Pigskin Club's 73rd Annual Awards Banquet on February 11 in Washington, DC.


As the Pigskin Club's pick as CIAA Coach of the Year, Asberry will be presented with the W. Henry "Stud" Greene award.  The 100% Wrong Club of Atlanta has also named Asberry their CIAA Coach of the Year and will present him with the award at a banquet on February 5.


Asberry led the Bears to a 9-3 record, including a 7-0 run in the CIAA and the CIAA Football Championship.  The Bears advanced to the NCAA Playoffs, but were knocked out in the first round by Shepherd.


In Asberry's five years as Head Coach, the Bears have amassed a 36-19 record and won three CIAA Championships.


As the Pigskin Club's pick as CIAA Player of the Year, Kevin Atkins (Sr., 6-1, 195, QB, Durham, NC) will be presented with the James Guy "Pete" Tyson Award.  Atkins was 134 for 258 (51.9 percent) on the season with 19 touchdown passes to only eight interceptions.  He averaged 160.4 yards per game passing.


Each year, the Pigskin Club honors athletes and coaches of HBCUs, including recognizing a National Black College Champion, as well as a Coach and Player of the Year from the four HBCU conferences (CIAA, MEAC, SIAC, and SWAC).   This year's banquet will be held Friday, February 11 at 7:00 p.m. at the Capital Hilton Hotel in Washington, DC.  For more information on the Pigskin Club, go to www.pigskinclub.com.


For information on Shaw athletics, go to www.shawbears.com.